## 2024 NM Election Analysis by Pro Business /Hospitality Lobbyist:

Jason R. Weaks, Esq.

The Weaks Law Firm, P.C.



After the 2024 NM Legislative Session some notable legislators announced their retirements which will lead to significant changes in both the state Senate and State House of Representatives. Post 2024 primary, it is almost guaranteed that the legislature will become significantly more polarized because many moderate candidates, both Republicans and Democrats, lost their primary races. As a result, the main takeaways for the 2024 election cycle are:

- Progressive Democratic candidates, particularly progressive women, had success
  with progressives defeating roughly three moderate Democratic incumbents who were
  supported by the Hospitality Industry in the House (Madrid, Castellano and Garcia)
  and two moderate Democratic incumbents in the Senate (Ivey-Soto and O'Neill);
- 2) In most open seats where incumbents have announced their retirement, the progressive Democratic candidate defeated their more moderate Democratic counterparts with at least three House seats and two Senate seats being secured by the more progressive candidates.
- 3) Moderate Republican candidates in both the House and the Senate lost their primary races to the more conservative Republican candidates which stood true for moderate incumbents and the moderate candidates in open seats.

Most progressive democratic advocates signaling they would target more moderate Democrat candidates in the primary were successful in their effort. Also, many viable moderate Republicans lost their primary elections as well. As a result, the legislature will become much more progressive and polarized which will make successful advocacy related to several major issues (MedMal Reform, Mergers and Acquisitions, Green Amendment, Paid Family Medical Leave, etc.) very difficult. Leadership in each chamber will also become more progressive with President Pro Temp of the Senate, Mimi Stewart, solidifying her progressive base and general power over the chamber. House Speaker Javier Martinez will have to manage a much more progressive Democratic majority and will be less likely to favor/support moderate policies. While Republicans will target 4 or 5 Dem seats in the House and 3 or 4 Dem seats in the Senate, Republicans are unlikely to make significant gains in either chamber without a strong vote from business.

Note – <u>Click here for full list Senate races</u> with links to candidate bios and <u>click here for a full list of House races</u> with candidate bios.



## 2024 NM Election Scorecard & Guide YOU Review & DECIDE

Representatives are graded on their voting records and candidates on their survey responses. This helps identify them as either 'Pro-Business' or 'Anti-Business.' Voters should select reps based on their influence on New Mexicans, considering their track record for incumbents or their answers to our Candidate Survey for non-incumbents.

Early Voting: Starts Tues 10/8, Ends Sat 11/2	W8, Ends Sat 11/2				ABQ METRO CONTESTED RACES ONLY HOUSE	HOUSE	RACES OF	ALY			Last Day to Register to Vote: 10/8/24 SENATE	ter to Vote:	: 10/8/24	
NAME	County	District	Score	Analysis	NAME	County District	District	Score	Analysis	NAME	County	District	Score	Analysis
Javier Martinez (I)	Bernalillo	11	F		Eleanor Chavez (I)	Bernalillo	26	F		Cindy Nava	Bern/San	9	Ţ	Open Seat
Bart Kinney	Bernalillo	⇉	>		Patrick Sais	Bernalillo	26	Ţ		Audrey Trujillo	Bern/San	9	A	R Must Win
Miguel Garcia (I)	Bernalillo	14	П		Marian Matthews (I)	Bernalillo	27	С	Support	Katy Duhigg (I)	Bern/San	10	Ţ,	
Konnie Legried	Bernalillo	14	Ţ		Gregory Gallegos	Bernalillo	27	A	Matthews	Rudy Mora	Bern/San	10	Þ	
Yannira Gurrola-Valenzuela (I)	Bernalillo	16	П		Pamelya Herndon (I)	Bernalillo	28	F	Opportunity	Phillip Ramirez	Bernalillo	12	С	Open Seat
Leland Bohannon	Bernalillo	16	ŦĮ.		Marcie May	Bernalillo	28	Α	To Flip	Jay Block	Bernalillo	12	A	R Must Win
Cynthia Borrego (I)	Bernalillo	17	ဂ		Joy Garratt (I)	Bernalillo	29	П		Natalie Figueroa	Bernalillo	18	Ţ	Open Seat
Joshua Neal	Bernalillo	17	>		Greg Cunningham	Bernalillo	29	Α		Kurstin Johnson	Bernalillo	18	Α	R Must Win
Janelle Anyanonu (I)	Bernalillo	19	П		Elizabeth Torres- Velasquez Bernalillo	z Bernalillo	30	Ţ	R Must Win	William Burton Scott	Bern/San/ SF/Torr	19	Ţ	Open Seat
Leanne Derrick	Bernalillo	19	A		Lori Robertson	Bernalillo	30	Þ	To Flip	Ant Thornton	Bern/San/ SF/Torr	19	Þ	R Must Win
Meredith Dixon (I)	Bernalillo	20	П	Opportunity	Vicky Estrada-Bustillo	Bernalillo	<u>3</u>	Ţ	Open R Seat	Martin Hickey (I)	Bernalillo	20	П	Swing Dist.
Tracy Major	Bernalillo	20	Þ	To Flip	Nicole Chavez	Bernalillo	31	Þ	Must Win	Wayne Yevoli	Bernalillo	20	Þ	Poss. Flip
Stefani Lord (I)	Bern/Torrance	22	Þ		Kathleen Cates (I)	Bern/San	44	П	R Must Win	Athena Christodoulou	Bernalillo	21	Ţ	Open R Seat
Fred Ponzlov	Bern/Torrance	22	ဂ		Ali Ennenga	Bern/San	44	Α	To Flip	Nicole Tobiassen	Bernalillo	21	Α	Must Win
Alan Martinez (I)	Sandoval	23	≻		Michelle Sandoval	Sandoval	57	C	Open R Seat	Joshua Sanchez (I)	Bern/Valencia	29	>	Open R Seat
Frank Smith Jr	Sandoval	23	Ţ		Catherine Cullen	Sandoval	57	Α	Must Win	Tina Garcia	Bern/Valencia	29	C	Must Win
Elizabeth Thomson (I)	Bernalillo	24	П		Joshua Hernandez (I)	Sandoval	60	≻	Must Hold	Craig Brandt (I)	Sandoval	40	>	Must Hold
David Daffon	Bernalillo	24	≻		Luke Jungmann	Sandoval	60	П	R Seat	Amina Everett	Sandoval	40	ဂ	R Seat
Cristina Parajon (I)	Bernalillo	25	П		Charlotte Little (I)	Bernalillo	68	П	Swing Dist.					
Denis Litvinenko	Bernalillo	25	0		Nathan Brooks	Bernalillo	68	Þ	Poss. Flip					

Score Ratings courtesy of New Mexico Business Coalition Analysis By GAHLA/NMHA Pro-Business Lobbyist- Jason R. Weaks, Esq.



## Additional Websites for an informed membership:

New Mexico Business Coaliti Voter Resources - New Mexico Business Coalition (nmbizcoalition.org)